Wednesday, 14 January 2015


I have done a lot of work on this topic of food in school with calculations, menu planning, allergen information and training.

The information from the Children's Food Trust may be of help

New school food standards

So what’s new in the standards ( )? The main difference is that they're food-based only, which means schools and their caterers will no longer have to nutritionally analyse their recipes and menus. The general principle of the
new standards emphasizes the importance of providing a wide range of foods across the week.

Variety is key – whether it’s different fruits, vegetables, grains, pulses or types of meat and fish. Offering a wider range of different foods provides a
better balance of nutrients.

Check out the practical guidance ( ) developed for schools, cooks and caterers t.

Know your allergens?

New EU Regulations mean that schools have a legal responsibility to provide correct information about the allergens contained in the food and drink you make or serve to pupils. The 14 allergens covered by the requirements are celery, cereals containing gluten, crustaceans, eggs, fish, lupin, milk,  molluscs, mustard, nuts, peanuts, sesame seeds, soya and sulphur dioxide. Information can be provided in a written format (e.g. listed on menus or standard recipes), or available for staff to explain verbally to parents and children.

The EU Food Information for Consumers Regulation ( ), enforced in the UK by the Food Information Regulations 2014, applies to all food businesses, including schools, early years settings and hospitals from 13 December 2014.

Sunday, 4 January 2015


IBS or irritable bowel syndrome makes life difficult for many people. Symptoms vary from person to person and there is not a universal solution.

I have had a number of patients with the problems and learnt that it often takes a while to sort things out.

The IBS Network Provides helpful advice for individuals to take control of their condition and are
found at

Friday, 2 January 2015

Red meat update

Red meat as part of a healthy lifestyle

Red meat is typically defined as beef, lamb, pork and goat but also  includes meat products such as hamburgers and minced beef which have not been preserved.

This separates them from the category of "processed meats" which have typically undergone salting, smoking or curing  processes, or had preservatives added to them.

Red meat when eaten as part of a healthy, balanced diet provides a  valuable source of high quality protein and important micronutrients including B vitamins, vitamin D, iron, zinc, selenium, potassium and
long-chain n-3 fatty acids.  

For these reasons, healthy lifestyle choices should include consuming red meat with The Department of Health advising that adults should consume a balanced diet with up to 70g of lean red meat per day
and up to 500g per week as recommended by The Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition (SACN).

In context, red meat when consumed as part of a health and balanced diet is a valuable source of high quality protein and many micronutrients.

When looking to make lifestyle choices, ideally these should include eating up to 70g of lean red meat per day and up to 500g per week.  Cuts of meats should be lean, or fat should be trimmed, with meat being well
cooked but not charred.

To find out more, please visit